Home> Specialty Certifications >Nevada

Specialty Certification by the State Bar of Nevada

State Bar of Nevada

The State Bar of Nevada allows attorneys to advertise themselves as specialists if they have become certified by an organization approved by the Bar, register and meet other requirements.

Nevada lawyers can become certified in up to three of 11 different practice areas offered for specialty by the five approved organizations.

The Nevada Supreme Court, which has ultimate oversight over the regulation of attorneys in the Silver State, gave the State Bar authority to certify lawyers as specialists in 2003. Only attorneys who have been property certified through the Bar's procedures may advertise as "specialists."

Minimum Requirements for Board Certified Lawyers in Nevada

Each organization has certain requirements to become certified. Once an attorney has met those requirements, he or she must meet further requirements and take additional steps to become a certified Nevada lawyer:

  • The attorney must carry a malpractice insurance policy with coverage limits of at least $500,000;
  • The attorney must show he or she devoted at least one third of his or her practice time to the specialty in the previous two years;
  • He or she must have taken at least 10 hours of continuing legal education (CLE) seminars in the specialty area over the prior year; and
  • He or she must pay a $250 fee.

Only after meeting these requirements may an attorney advertise as a specialist. An attorney may only advertise three or fewer specialties.

Find a Board Certified Specialist Attorney in Nevada

According to the website of the State Bar of Nevada for Legal Certified Specialist, as of Monday, September 14, 2015, the following Nevada attorneys have registered their certifications as legal specialists in the following areas of law:

Nevada Attorneys who are Board Certified Specialist in Civil Trial Advocacy:
Donald C. Kudler
Marsha L. Stephenson
Robert D. Martin
Pat Lundvall
J.R. Crockett
William R. Clayton
Thomas F. Christensen
J. Bruce Alverson

Nevada Attorneys who are Board Certified Specialist inBusiness Bankruptcy:

Matthew C. Zirzow
Lenard E. Schwartzer
Jeanette E. McPherson
Matthew L. Johnson
Jeffrey L. Hartman

Nevada Attorneys who are Board Certified Specialist inChild Welfare Law:
Michelle L. Rodriguez
Janice Wolf
Candace J. Barr

Nevada Attorneys who are Board Certified Specialist inCriminal Trial Advocacy:

Brett O. Whipple
Joshua L. Tomsheck
Craig S. Denney

Nevada Attorneys who are Board Certified Specialist inElder Law:
Elyse M. Tyrell
Richard D. Chatwin
Nevada Attorneys who are Board Certified Specialist inFamily Law:

Gloria M. Petroni
Richard W. Young
Marilyn D. York
Marshal Willick
Dawn R. Throne
Radford J. Smith
Gary Silverman
Tracy M. Rau
Eric A. Pulver
Katherine Provost
Raymond E. Oster
Shawn B. Meador
Emily McFarling
Vincent Mayo
Daniel Marks
Ronald J. Logar
Andrew L. Kynaston
Ishi Kunin
John T. Kellehe
Edward Kainen

John D. Jones
James Jimmerson
Peter Jaquette
Rena Hughes
Sarah F. Hardy-Cooper
Howard Ecker
Mary Anne Decaria
Shelly B. Cooley
Robert Cerceo
Cassandra Campbell

Rebecca L. Burton
Kathleen T. Breckenridge
Rayna L. Brachmann
Brian Blackhead
Audrey J. Beeson
Jennifer V. Abrams

Organizations Approved to Certify Attorneys in Nevada

There are five organizations that have sought and gained approved from the State Bar to certify attorneys:

Additionally, fellows in the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers have been certified to as family law specialists, according to the NBLSC.

Specialty Practice Areas in Nevada

Attorneys in Nevada are currently certified in:

  • Appellate Law
  • Business Bankruptcy
  • Civil Trial Advocacy
  • Criminal Trial Advocacy
  • Elder Law
  • Family Law

The New Nevada Board of Personal Injury Legal Specialization

At the Board of Governors meeting on April 3, 2014, Gene Leverty provided a synopsis on the process of developing a Personal Injury Specialization.

A task force was created which allowed Gene Leverty, Julie Cavanaugh, Bill Dobberstein, and Eric Dobberstein to review the draft guidelines for the category of Personal Injury Specialization.

The taskforce took steps to reach out to the other organizations for feedback. Upon completion of the review, the guidelines were published for comment.

In September 2014, the Board of Governors approved the rules and regulations of the Nevada Board of Personal Injury Legal Specialization.

The new specialization board operates under the supervision of the Nevada Justice Association and is composed of five members. The board will have general jurisdiction over all matters relating to personal injury specialization.

Among other qualifications, attorneys wishing to become board certified in personal injury law must take a written exam, offered at least twice a year. The board is currently working on the content of the exams and determining a testing schedule. Many of the top personal injury attorneys in Nevada are expected to seek this important designation. 

Contact Information for the State Bar of Nevada

State Bar of Nevada
600 E. Charleston Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89104
Phone: 702-382-2200

At Lawyer Legion, we understand the importance of specialty certification programs. We created a feature on our directory to help the public narrow their search to find only Nevada attorneys who have earned specialty certification. Lawyer Legion is not endorsed or approved by any state or national board certification program or by any bar association, including the State Bar of Nevada.This article was last updated on Friday, November 22, 2019.