Home> Legal Associations> Criminal Defense Lawyers Associations >MACDL - Missouri Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
Logo of the MACDL
Contribute to the information on this page: Suggest Edits

Missouri Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (MACDL)

About the MACDL


  • Founded: 1978
  • Focus: Criminal Defense
  • Founder: Jerry Handley
  • Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
  • Website: www.macdl.net
  • Executive Director: Randy Scherr
  • President: Adam Woody

Mission and History

The Missouri Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (MACDL) is a not for profit corporation formed in 1978 in Kansas City. Jerry Handley brought a group of criminal defense lawyers together to discuss the formation of the organization and its administration. 

Since its creation, MACDL has continued to promote excellence in the practice of criminal law and protect the rights of the accused. MACDL is the leading statewide association exclusively serving the comprehensive needs of the criminal defense bar. The mission of MACDL is to come together and improve the quality of the criminal justice system in Missouri. 

Members of the MACDL include many of the top criminal defense lawyers in Missouri. MACDL members enjoy networking opportunities, publications focused on criminal justice issues and discounts on quality CLE seminars. MACDL is an affiliate organization of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (NACDL). 



Board of Directors

Adam Darrell Woody
Springfield, MO
Eric Eugene Vernon
Vice President
Liberty, MO
Fawsy Simon
Fawsy Simon
Camdenton, MO

Past Presidents

William Fleischaker
William Fleischaker
Joplin, MO
Marilyn Brady Keller
Kansas City, MO
Michelle Monahan
Michelle Monahan
St. Louis, MO

Charles Shaw Trial Advocacy Award Recipients

Named for our late brother from St. Louis. This award is for those who exhibit outstanding trial skills and a passion for trying cases involving the innocent accused. There are up to three available each year.  

Jeffrey Scott Eastman
Gladstone, MO
Joseph Samuel Passanise
Springfield, MO
Robert Steele
Robert Steele
Clayton, MO

Contact the MACDL

Missouri Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (MACDL)
101 East High Street Suite 200 P.O. Box 1543
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Office: (573) 636-2822
Fax: (573) 636-9749

Online Profiles

More About MACDL

Membership in MACDL

For Missouri lawyers, MACDL membership is reserved for the following:

  • Practicing attorneys
  • Provisional (Persons of integrity and good moral character who are pursuing a career in the defense of criminal cases (i.e. Law Professors, members of the judiciary, etc.)
  • Associates (Non-Lawyers providing goods and services incidental to the practice of law)

Benefits of Membership

The benefits of joining MACDL include:

  • a listing on the public membership directory;
  • invitations to meetings and networking opportunities;
  • access to discussion forums; and
  • discounts on quality CLE seminars on criminal defense topics.

Directory of Criminal Defense Lawyers in Missouri

Lawyer Legion maintains a statewide directory of criminal defense attorneys in Missouri which includes both MACDL members and non-members. To help the public find the best choices when searching for a criminal defense attorney, Lawyer Legion recognizes attorneys for their involvement and leadership within the MACDL and other professional associations. This includes recognition for MACDL Past Presidents and MACDL members who have updated their Lawyer Legion profile to include information about their involvement with the MACDL.

Use this directory to find a Missouri criminal defense lawyer in your local area. Start by choosing your county from the list below.

Suggest an Edit

Thanks, your suggestion has been sent to our support team