Founded on December 14, 1981, the Texas Bar College is an honorary society of attorneys and paralegals who are among the best trained in Texas. Members are interested in improving training and promoting high ethical standards for all Texas attorneys and paralegals.
The Texas Bar College recognizes Texas attorneys and paralegals who attend at least double the Continuing Legal Education (CLE) required by the State Bar of Texas.
The initial membership requirements include either 45 hours of CLE in the prior or current calendar year; or 80 hours of continuing legal education (CLE) over a period of three or fewer calendar years. The Texas Bar College also issued the following awards:
The mission of the Texas Bar College is to recognize outstanding service to the legal profession; to promote among members of the State Bar and the general public the educational and public purposes of the College and its members; to sponsor educational activities of significant merit and applicability to the legal profession; and to recognize and encourage lawyers who enhance their professional skills and the quality of their service to the public by significant voluntary participation in legal education.
Contact Information for the Texas Bar CollegeTexas Bar College
The benefits of being recognized by the Texas Bar College includes:
Upon satisfying the membership requirements of the Texas Bar College, membership is open to all members of the State Bar of Texas in good standing. To maintain a good standing in the State Bar of Texas, all attorneys must satisfy the educational and reporting requirements of the State Bar's Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) program.
On an annual basis, the Executive Director of the Texas Bar College will provide a status report to each member of the College. Each member will then verify the reported CLE information and shall report any changes or additions to the College office.
The initial membership requirements include:
Other ways of obtaining hours include:
To join the College as an Initial Member, the attorney must submit a completed application along with the membership fee to the State Bar College after accumulating the minimum CLE credits. Attorneys who have met the Initial Membership requirements may join the College by submitting an application and paying an initial fee of $60. For all calendar years following the Initial Membership year, members shall pay an annual fee of $60.
Each calendar year after becoming a member, the attorney must complete a minimum of 30 CLE hours. At least hours each year must be in the area of professional responsibility/legal ethics. No attorney shall publish or permit others to publish a representation of membership in the College unless the attorney is a member in good standing under these regulations.
CLE credit hours may be in the form of either Regular, Teaching, or Legal Writing credit hours. The hours can be attained through:
Texas Bar College on Facebook - Visit the Texas Bar College on Facebook to find upcoming events and links to newsletters and other information provided by the College.
This article was last updated on Monday, February 15, 2016.