Home> Legal Associations> Criminal Defense Lawyers Associations >UACDL - Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
Logo of the UACDL
Contribute to the information on this page: Suggest Edits

Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (UACDL)

About the UACDL


  • Focus: Criminal Defense
  • Executive Director: Steven K. Burton
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Mission and History

For more than 20 years, the Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (UACDL) has worked to improve the profession and reform the Utah criminal justice system. Today the organization has grown to many of the top criminal defense attorneys in Utah. UACDL is an affiliate of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (NACDL). Functioning as a non-profit corporation under the Utah Nonprofit Corporation and Cooperative Association Act, the UACDL offices are located in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The mission of the UACDL is to bring together a community of individuals dedicated to bettering the criminal justice system in the state of Utah. Through education, advocacy, and support, the UACDL fosters criminal defense lawyers in Utah to ensure the individual rights of the accused are met. 

Any attorney admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of Utah who is actively engaged in the defense of criminal cases, is eligible to apply for membership in the Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, as a Regular Member. Any attorney who holds or attains judicial or prosecutorial office is ineligible to become or remain a member of UACDL.



Board of Directors

Sam Goble
Sam Goble
Salt Lake City, UT
Tessa Hansen
Tessa Hansen
President Elect
Salt Lake City, UT
Mary C Corporon
Immediate Past President
Salt Lake City, UT
Staci Visser
Salt Lake City, UT
Steven K. Burton
Executive Director
Salt Lake City, UT

UACDL Members Active on Lawyer Legion

Roger James Dodd
Spohrer Dodd
Jacksonville, FL
View Profile
Michael T Holje
Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat, LLP
Salt Lake City, UT
View Profile
Darren M Levitt
Levitt Legal, PLLC
Salt Lake City, UT
View Profile
Brent J Huff
Law Office of Brent J Huff
Salt Lake City, UT
View Profile
Jerry Salcido
Salcido Law Firm PLLC
Sandy, UT
View Profile

Contact the UACDL

Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (UACDL)
P.O. Box 3254
Salt Lake City, UT 84110
Office: (801) 363-2976

Online Profiles

More About UACDL

Benefits of Membership

The benefits of joining the UACDL include:

  • discounts on quality CLE seminars throughout the year;
  • access to the members-only sections of the UACDL website including the brief and motion bank;
  • access to the members-only email discussion forums;
  • a subscription to The Defender, a quarterly newsletter for criminal defense attorneys in Utah; and
  • a subscription to the Utah Journal of Criminal Law which is an academic journal on criminal justice issues.

Membership classifications include the regular member, the founding member, the life member, the sustaining member and the public defender member, and the law student division member.


Directory of Criminal Defense Lawyers in Utah

Lawyer Legion maintains a statewide directory of criminal defense lawyers in Utah which includes both UACDL members and non-members amongst a broader directory of attorneys in Utah. To help the public find the best choices when searching for a criminal defense attorney, Lawyer Legion recognizes attorneys for their involvement and leadership within the UACDL and other professional associations. This includes recognition for UACDL members who have updated their Lawyer Legion profile to include information about their involvement with the UACDL.

Use this directory to find a Utah criminal defense lawyer in your local area. Start by choosing your county from the list below.

Suggest an Edit

Thanks, your suggestion has been sent to our support team