Home> Legal Associations> Criminal Defense Lawyers Associations >MACDL - Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
Logo of the MACDL
Contribute to the information on this page: Suggest Edits

Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (MACDL)

About the MACDL


  • Members: 350+
  • Focus: Criminal Defense
  • Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Website: www.macdl.legal
  • Executive Director: Piper Wold
  • President: David Valentini

Mission and History

The Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (MACDL) is a not for profit corporation with offices in Minneapolis, MN. MACDL is the leading statewide association exclusively serving the comprehensive needs of the criminal defense bar. 

Since its creation, MACDL has continued to promote excellence and knowledge in the practice of criminal law and protect the individual rights of the accused. Today, the MACDL consists of many of the top criminal defense lawyers in Minnesota in both the private sector and public defense. Membership is also opened to students and investigators. 

MACDL pushes its practicing attorneys and collaborators to better their practice and support through legal education, networking, and advocacy. MACDL members also lobby for legislation that supports the goals and objectives of the association and the criminal defense practice. 



Board of Directors

Andrew S Birrell
Minneapolis, MN
Ryan Patrick Garry
Vice President
Minneapolis, MN
Patrick Lennae Cotter
South St. Paul, MN
David L Valentini
Minneapolis, MN
Kelly Jane Keegan
President Emeritus
Minneapolis, MN
Jean Marie Brandl
Saint Paul, MN
Jill A. Brisbois
Jill A. Brisbois
Minneapolis, MN
Ryan Else
Ryan Else
Minneapolis, MN
James David Fleming
Mankato, MN

Contact the MACDL

Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (MACDL)
331 2nd Avenue South SUite 705
Minneapolis, MN 55401
Office: (612) 440-1500

Online Profiles

More About MACDL

Membership in MACDL

The types of membership available in MACDL include the following:

  • Private Defense Lawyer
  • Public Lawyers
  • New Lawyers
  • Paralegals
  • Law Students
  • Investigators 

Benefits of Membership

For Minnesota attorneys, the benefits of joining MACDL include:

  • a listing in the membership directory;
  • access to online publications in PDF format;
  • access to the online brief bank;
  • representation through Strike Force when the attorney is threatened by prosecutors or the courts for providing proper legal representation to a client accused of a crime;
  • discounts to quality Continuing Legal Education (CLE) seminars;
  • an invitation to the annual Jack Wylde memorial golf tournament and MACDL dinner;
  • access to the discussion forum;
  • a voice through the Legislative Committee which advocates in St. Paul for needed reforms and to fight restricting individual rights; and
  • a subscription to Challenger - a quarterly journal on trial advocacy, practice tips and criminal justice issues.


Past Presidents of MDLA

The past presidents of MDLA include:

  • 2020-2021: Matt Thibodeau in Duluth, MN
  • 2019-2020: Benjamin D. McAninch in Mankato, MN
  • 2018-2019: Steven M. Sitek
  • 2017-2018: Jessica E. Schwie
  • 2016-2017: Troy Poetz
  • 2015-2016: Rich Scattergood
  • 2014-2015: Dyan Ebert
  • 2013-2014: Mark Fredrickson
  • 2012-2013: Lisa Griebel
  • 2011-2012: Mark Solheim
  • 2010-2011: Patricia Beety
  • 2009-2010: Thomas Marshall
  • 2008-2009: Kay E. Tuveson
  • 2007-2008: Paul A. Rajkowski
  • 2006-2007: Patrick Sauter
  • 2005-2006: Gregory P. Bulinski
  • 2004-2005: Steven R. Schwegman
  • 2003-2004: Leon R. Erstad
  • 2002-2003: Steven J. Pfefferle
  • 2001-2002: The Honorable Kathryn Davis Messerich
  • 2000-2001: Michael S. Ryan
  • 1999-2000: The Honorable John H. Scherer
  • 1998-1999: Nicholas Ostapenko
  • 1997-1998: Richard J. Thomas
  • 1996-1997: Rebecca Egge Moos
  • 1995-1996: Theodore J. Smetak
  • 1994-1995: Steve J. Cahill
  • 1993-1994: Dale B. Lindeman*
  • 1992-1993: Michael J. Ford*
  • 1991-1992: Lawrence R. King*
  • 1990-1991: John M. Degnan
  • 1989-1990: The Honorable Eric J. Magnuson
  • 1988-1989: Thomas R. Thibodeau
  • 1987-1988: Phillip A. Cole
  • 1986-1987: Gene P. Bradt*
  • 1985-1986: Lynn G. Truesdell
  • 1984-1985: Richard L. Pemberton*
  • 1983-1984: Martin N. Burke*
  • 1982-1983: Tyrone P. Bujold
  • 1981-1982: George S. Roth*
  • 1980-1981: Clyde F. Anderson
  • 1979-1980: James D. Cahill*
  • 1978-1979: William T. Egan*
  • 1977-1978: Richard P. Mahoney
  • 1976-1977: G. Alan Cunningham*
  • 1975-1976: Paul Q. O'Leary
  • 1974-1975: Richard R. Quinlivan*

* = Deceased

Directory of Criminal Defense Lawyers in Minnesota

Lawyer Legion maintains a statewide directory of criminal defense lawyers in Minnesota which includes both MACDL members and non-members amongst a broader directory of Minnesota attorneys. To help the public find the best choices when searching for a criminal defense attorney, Lawyer Legion recognizes attorneys for their involvement and leadership within the MACDL and other professional associations. This includes recognition for MACDL members who have updated their Lawyer Legion profile to include information about their involvement with the MACDL.

Use this directory to find a Minnesota criminal defense lawyer in your local area. Start by choosing your county from the list below.

Criminal Defense Lawyers by County


Suggest an Edit

Thanks, your suggestion has been sent to our support team