Home> Legal Associations> Civil Justice / Trial Lawyers Associations >ATLA - Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association

Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association

Founded in 1963, the members of Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association is the state’s largest and most active voluntary statewide legal organization. The organization represents Arkansas’ trial attorneys practice in civil and criminal trial law. Many of the top personal injury attorneys in Arkansas belong to this organization.

Members are dedicated to protecting the health and safety of Arkansas families, to enhancing consumer protections and to preserving each and every citizen's right to trial by jury and access to the courts. 

Since 2006, ATLA’s offices are located in the historic Union Station building located at 1400 West Markham in Suite 307 in downtown Little Rock, Arkansas. Previously, the ATLA offices were located in the River Market District at the east end of Markham Street. 

The organization provides attorneys with high quality continuing legal education (CLE) seminars while keeping its members abreast of legislative and judicial activities. Members are devoted to advancing and protecting the rights of individuals and the American Justice System. These attorneys practice in one of the following areas of the law: 

  • Personal Injury;
  • Civil Trial Law;
  • Product Liability;
  • Workers’ Compensation;
  • Insurance Law;
  • Criminal Law;
  • Family Law;
  • Commercial Litigation;
  • Environmental Law,
  • Social Security; and
  • Veteran’s Affairs. 

Attorneys who are engaged in the practice of law representing defendants or their insurance companies in personal injury matters at least 50% of their time are only eligible to become an associate member of ATLA, although those members may not vote or hold office.

Contact Information for ATLA

Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association
1400 W. Markham Street Suite 307
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
(800) 442-2852
(501) 376-2852 
Website:  Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association

Videos about ATLA

Visit the YouTube Channel for the Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association, published on August 5, 2014, to learn more about ATLA's CLEs feature the top speakers and educational programs you can find anywhere in the State of Arkansas. 

The ATLA Docket Publication

Published quarterly, the ATLA Docket is a legal journal with articles are written by trial lawyers and other legal experts. With a circulation of more than 1,000, articles are focused on recent developments in substantive legal issues. The ATLA Docket is read by trial lawyers, judges, law professors, legislators, and decision-makers statewide. More than 1000 ATLA Docket

The ATLA Awards

The organization provides awards each year to recognize members of the legal community. Awards from the organization include: 

  • Outstanding Trial Lawyer Award
  • Outstanding Trial Judge Award
  • Outstanding Paralegal/Legal Assistant Award
  • Outstanding Member New Lawyer Division
  • Consumer Advocate Award
  • Citizen Merit Award
  • Roxanne Wilson Advocacy Award
  • Henry Woods Lifetime Achievement Award

Membership Level of ATLA 

ATLA has several different membership levels. The dues depend on the membership level and the number of years the attorney has been in practice.

To be eligible to become a regular member of ATLA, the applicant must be a lawyer who is licensed to practice law in the state of Arkansas and is in good standing with the Arkansas Supreme Court who does not qualify for membership under any of the membership categories listed below. 

  • 0-1 Years = $75
  • 2-4 Years= $100
  • 5-7 Years= $225
  • 8-9 Years= $325
  • 10+ Years= $450

Other membership levels include: 

  • Law Student Membership
  • Associate Member (In-State)
  • Associate Member (Out of State) $550
  • Law Professor $125
  • Retired Member $125
  • Government Member $125

Members can also provide additional financial support to the organization and be recognized for their efforts through the Elite Membership program. 

  • Platinum Founder $25,000
  • Silver Diplomat $12,000
  • Bronze Barrister $6,000
  • Champion Benefactor $3,000
  • Champion Patron $1,200
  • Guardian of Justice


Past Presidents of ATLA

The past presidents of ATLA include:

  • Alan Lane, President-Elect (2019-20)
  • Bryce Brewer, President (2019-20
  • Jesse Gibson, Immediate Past President (2018-19)
  • __________(2017-18)
  • Robin Smith (2016-17)
  • Bob Edwards (2015-2016)
  • George Wise (2014-2015)
  • Don Elliott (2013-2014)
  • M. Chad Trammell (2012-2013)
  • Tre Kitchens (2010-11)
  • Chris Heil (2009-10)
  • Paul Byrd (2008-09)
  • John Patterson (2006-08)
  • Clark Mason (2006)
  • John M. Belew (2005-06)
  • Brad Hendricks (2004-05)
  • Q. Byrum Hurst (2003-04)
  • Bob Estes (2002-03)
  • *Paul E. Harrison (2001-02)
  • Richard S. Muse (2000-01)
  • Randy L. Hill (1999-00)
  • Laurie A. Bridewell (1998-99)
  • Michael Crawford (1997-98)
  • Patty W. Lueken (1996-97)
  • Bart Virden (1995-96)
  • Laura J. McKinnon (1994-95)
  • Timothy O. Dudley (1993-94)
  • David H. Williams (1992-93)
  • Morgan E. "Chip" Welch (1991-92)
  • Donald B. Kendall (1990-91)
  • B. Michael Easley (1989-90)
  • J. Bruce McMath (1988-89)
  • Charles A. Banks (1987-88)
  • Ralph M. Cloar, Jr. (1986-87)
  • *Winslow Drummond (1985-86)
  • Troy Henry (1984-85)
  • Robert R. Cloar (1983-84)
  • Bobby R. McDaniel (1982-83)
  • Hon. William R. Wilson, Jr. (1981-82)
  • Edward Allen Gordon (1980-81)
  • Charles A. Brown (1979-80)
  • David H. Blair (1978-79)
  • James R. Rhodes, III (1977-78)
  • *Walter R. Niblock (1975-77)
  • *Gerland Patten (1973-75)
  • *James T. Gooch (1971-73)
  • Donald S. Ryan (1969-71)
  • *Dale Price (1967-69)
  • *Honorable Henry Woods (1965-67)
  • *Earl J. Lane (1963-65)
  • *Nathan Gordon (1961-63)

This article was last updated on Thursday, September 5, 2019.